(Location to be Announced)
The Duke Law Bolch Judicial Institute will hold an open conference for both plaintiff and defense lawyers on a Mass-Torts MDL Annual Case Law and Practices Review in March 2020.
Practices and procedures in mass-tort MDLs are conducted in accordance with evolving conventions and customs, which are developed and accepted by the MDL community. Although the Duke MDL Best Practices provide information on discrete MDL practices, no comprehensive written documents are available. Understanding what happens in these MDLs and what lawyers are expected to do in a mass-tort MDL constantly change and can be learned only through oral guidance provided by those actually involved in the litigation. The conference will examine selected perennial issues, which typically arise in mass-tort MDLs, and the changes during the immediate past 12 months in case law or practices that arose to address them.
Ten-fifteen federal judges and approximately 75-100 practitioners are expected to attend.
Active interaction among judges, practitioners, and law professors in an intimate environment is a hallmark of every Duke Law’s Distinguished Lawyers Conference. There will be ample time to raise questions and provide comment throughout the conference.
To encourage frank discussions, the conference is held under the Chatham House Rule: “When a meeting, or part thereof, is held under the Chatham House Rule, participants are free to use the information received, but neither the identity nor the affiliation of the speaker(s), nor that of any other participant, may be revealed.”
Registration Fee – The registration fee of $1,250 includes conference materials, two continental breakfasts, coffee breaks, lunch on Thursday, a reception on Thursday evening, and grab-and-go snacks at the end of the conference on Friday. An early-bird registration fee of $1,100 applies, if you register on or before January 15, 2020. Please email any questions to email@example.com.
CLE ─ CLE will be applied for in North Carolina and the state where the conference is held. If you are a practicing attorney in North Carolina or the state where the conference is held, your CLE hours will be submitted for you. Attorneys from other states will receive a “Certificate of Attendance” and a completed “Uniform Application for Accreditation” form after the conference in order to submit CLE hours for your state.