Mass-Tort MDLs are typically run by various committees, which are tasked to perform specific assignments, specific assignments, e.g., depositions, documents productions, fact and expert discovery, privilege logs, etc. These tasks are performed in accordance with evolving conventions and customs, which are developed and accepted by the MDL community. Although the Duke MDL Best Practices provide information on discrete MDL practices, no comprehensive instructional guides are available. Understanding what lawyers are expected to do in a mass-tort MDL can best be gained through a program of oral instruction and engagement with experienced lawyers and judges. The certificate program provides a unique opportunity to gain practical know-how not available anywhere else, to network with key players in mass-tort MDLs, and to equip participants to compete for leadership positions.
Courses are taught by leaders in the MDL community, including judges, lead counsel, and committee chairs. The certificate curriculum is rigorous and comprehensive; content is geared specifically toward defense or plaintiff attorneys, with break-out sessions by party and advice tailored to each side of the “v.” You will learn what the judges expect, how lead counsel execute those directives, and how committee chairs carry them out. Equally important are the many opportunities you’ll have to meet informally with faculty during the break sessions and raise particular questions or concerns.
Lawyers who successfully complete the program will receive a Mass-Tort MDL Certificate from the Bolch Judicial Institute of Duke Law School. (No Duke Law School academic credit is provided for this program.) Registrants for the Advanced Program must have attended a previous Duke Law Mass-Tort Certificate Program. Advanced students attend the basic certificate course on November 9, 2020, plus additional courses on November 10, 2020, and must submit a written work product within eight weeks following the course.
|2020 Mass-Tort MDL Certificate||2020 Advanced Certificate|
|Course fee – $1,500||Course fee – $2,500|
Need-based scholarships may also be available; please contact email@example.com for further information.
CLE credit will be applied for in North Carolina. If you are a practicing attorney in North Carolina, your CLE hours will be submitted for you. Attorneys from other states will receive a “Certificate of Attendance” and a completed “Uniform Application for Accreditation” form after the conference in order to submit CLE hours for your state.