WATCH | Bolch Prize for the Rule of Law: A Ceremony Honoring Justice Sandra Day O’Connor

May 22, 2024Bolch Prize

Associate U.S. Supreme Court Justice Sandra Day O’Connor was celebrated as the 2024 recipient of the Bolch Prize for the Rule of Law during a private ceremony held at Duke University on April 4, 2024.

During the ceremony, John G. Roberts Jr., Chief Justice of the United States, delivers remarks and a slideshow presentation honoring Justice O’Connor’s life and legacy (29:58) and Scott O’Connor accepts the prize on behalf of his late mother (18:15).

In addition, the ceremony features remarks from Duke Law School Dean Kerry Abrams (00:20); Lisa Kern Griffin, a Duke Law professor and former law clerk to Justice O’Connor (05:14); Paul W. Grimm, director of the Bolch Judicial Institute and a retired federal judge (beginning and 13:27); David F. Levi, president of The American Law Institute (28:20); and Susan Bass Bolch, co-founder of the Bolch Judicial Institute (44:02).

Have a suggestion? Submit your idea to our suggestion box.